ESC RFU ruled that the Spartak striker’s goal Alessandra Soboleva the penalty in the match against Krasnodar was correctly disallowed after the VAR intervention in the 84th minute.
The official website of the Russian Football Federation states:
The ESC’s decision was motivated by the fact that the player of team no. 7 of Spartak Alexander Sobolev, when taking a penalty kick, touched the ball for the second time, first moving it from its place with his left foot, and then hitting the ball with his right foot, which constitutes a violation of the rules to part of the player who kicks and sanctioned by awarding a free kick from the penalty spot to the defending team. In this regard, the commission unanimously supports the intervention of VAR, which determined that the player had violated the rules during the penalty kick procedure and the referee’s decision not to count the goal.
