Charles Leclerc punished: Why he was sanctioned for the 2023 Saudi GP and how many places he will drop - Sportish
Connect with us


Charles Leclerc punished: Why he was sanctioned for the 2023 Saudi GP and how many places he will drop



Scuderia Ferrari

The start of the 2023 season Charles Leclerc is forgotten. And it is that he not only had to leave to Bahrain Grand Prixwhen he was ready to finish on the podium, but he will have to do extra work on Saudi Arabia GP. And that’s it the Ferrari driver will be penalized and will have to drop several places back in his starting position for the game this Sunday, March 19.

All the details of the situation, below.

More | F1 Saudi GP 2023: Keys to preview, predictions, schedules, how and where to watch

Why was Charles Leclerc banned for the 2023 Saudi GP?

Before the start of the Bahrain GP, ​​Ferrari changed electronic components of the power unit from Monegasque, although he was reportedly later forced out of the race due to problems.

The Italian team replaced these components again for the Saudi Grand Prix. It is reported by the FIA Only two electronic controls may be used per season without penaltyTherefore, as it is the third used by the reds, the penalty is automatic.

Watch Formula 1: on DAZN in Spain | on fuboTV in the United States

“It’s something we haven’t experienced before. I hope it’s under control now, we’ve had a deep analysis of it. Unfortunately we’ll have to take the penalty in Jeddah.”said Fred Vasseur, Ferrari Team Principal.

“It’s not good news, but it’s not the end of the season. We’ll see what happens in this race and what might happen with the penalty, but I don’t imagine (Charles) is not motivated at all. He’s absolutely convinced, he’s working with us and puts pressure on the team in a positive way.”he added regarding Leclerc’s mental state.

How many places will Charles Leclerc drop for the 2023 Saudi GP?

Changing these details will give you Leclerc a penalty of at least 10 places on the grid/grid for the race (It will logically be imposed after his result in Saturday’s rankings). If they replace more parts in your car, the penalty can be even higher.

Source: Sporting News

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Verstappen wins Australian Grand Prix with three restarts, Alonso third




Red Bull driver Max Verstappen won the third round of the Formula One season, the Australian Grand Prix.

The second was the seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), the third place was taken by Fernando Alonso from Aston Martin. Two-time world champion Verstappen won in Australia for the first time in his career.

On the first lap, Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc retired from the race after colliding with Lance Stroll (Aston Martin). On the seventh lap, Alexander Albon (Williams) crashed into the fence and was unable to continue his performance, the race was suspended. On lap 55, Haas driver Kevin Magnussen’s rear right wheel fell off, and the race was again interrupted.

After the restart, there was an accident involving several cars, Nick De Vries (Alfa Tauri), Esteban Ocon and Pierre Gasly (both Alpin), Logan Sargent (Williams) retired, the race was suspended, after which it was decided to hold another restart behind the safety car.

The next stage of the season, the Azerbaijan Grand Prix, will take place on April 28-30.

“Formula 1”. 3rd stage. Australian Grand Prix. Melbourne


1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull);

2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes);

3. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin);

4. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin);

5. Sergio Perez (Red Bull);

6. Lando Norris (McLaren);

7. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas);

8. Oscar Piastri (McLaren);

9. Zhou Guanyu (“Alfa Romeo”);

10. Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri)

Source: Sportbox

Continue Reading


Max Verstappen wins Australian Grand Prix




Red Bull driver Max Verstappen has won the qualifying round of the third round of the Formula 1 season, the Australian Grand Prix.

The best time of the reigning world champion is 1 minute 16.732 seconds. Britons George Russell and Lewis Hamilton finished second and third respectively.

Verstappen’s teammate, Mexican Sergio Pérez, drove onto gravel at the start of qualifying and failed to make it to the second qualifying segment.

The Australian Grand Prix will take place on Sunday.

“Formula 1”. 3rd stage. Australian Grand Prix


1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 1.16.732;

2. George Russell (Mercedes) – +0.236;

3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – +0.372;

4. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin) – +0.407;

5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – +0.538;

6. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) – +0.576;

7. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) – +0.637;

8. Alexander Albon (Williams) – +0.877;

9. Pierre Gasly (Alpin) – +0.943;

10. Niko Hulkenberg (Haas) – +1.003.

Source: Sportbox

Continue Reading


Who are the drivers with the most pole positions in Formula 1 history? The complete list




The kings of classification.

The Formula 1 Not only does it have competition on Sundays, but also on Saturdays. It’s not a traditional match, but it works in one round: the fastest wins the pole. And as is the case with the Sunday sessions, this time he is the leader Lewis Hamilton.

The Briton is one of the best drivers of all time and his numbers show it: he used to dominate the weekend from start to finish. The 68 poles of Michael Schumacher they seemed impossible to overcome, but Hamilton dusted that record.

The third fastest is Ayrton Senna, which was always on the edge. Even until the last day. Ahead of the race in which he died, the Brazilian set the fastest lap in his Williams at the 1994 San Marino GP.

More | Follow Formula 1 exclusively in Spain via DAZN

Four drivers could enter the top 10 in the 2023 season: Max Verstappen (21) and Charles Leclerc (18); Fernando Alonso and Valtteri Botasat 22 and 20, they would need a miracle to keep growing.

The drivers with the most pole positions in F1 history

Position Pilot Nationality Number of poles last match
1 Lewis Hamilton* Britain 103 GP Saudi Arabia 2021
2 Michael Schumacher Germany 68 French GP 2006
3 Ayrton Senna Brazil 65 GP San Marino 1994
4 Sebastian Vettel Germany 57 Japan GP 2019
5 Jim Clark Britain 33 1968 South African GP
6 Alain Prost France 33 Japan GP 1993
7 Nigel Mansell Britain 32 Australian GP 1994
8 Nico Rosberg Germany 30 Japan GP 2016
9 Juan Manuel Fangio Argentina 29 1958 Argentine GP
10 Mika Hakkinen Finland 26 Belgian GP 2000
eleven Niki Lauda Austria 24 1978 South African GP
12 Nelson Pique Brazil 24 Spanish GP 1987
13 Fernando Alonso* Spain 22 German GP 2012
13 Max Verstappen* Netherlands 22 Australian GP 2023
fifteen Damon Hill Britain twenty 1996 Portuguese GP
16 Valtteri Bottas* Finland twenty Brazilian GP 2021
17 Mario Andretti USA 18 Italian GP 1982
18 Rene Arnou France 18 Great Britain GP 1983
19 Kimi Raikkonen Finland 18 Italian GP 2018
twenty Charles Leclerc* Monaco 18 GP Singapore 2022

*They remain active.

Source: Sporting News

Continue Reading